top of page

ACME begins residency at National Sawdust December 14-20

From December 14-20 at National Sawdust, ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble), who have been been performing and interpreting new music for over 10 years, will begin exploring the world of creating original music. The group will spend a week in the space writing music, both individually and collaboratively, which will be used for the open-to-the public concert at 6pm on Sunday, December 20, 2015. The program will feature new works and works-in-progress – a mix of composition and improvisation incorporating percussion, electric guitar, bass, and electronics.

Players include Timo Andres, piano/keys; Chris Thompson, electronics/percussion; Yuki Numata Resnick, violin; ACME artistic director Clarice Jensen, cello/bass; Aaron Roche, guitar/electronics/synths; and Grey Mcmurray, guitar. The group returns for another residency at National Sawdust from April 19-23, 2016.

Tickets to concert on December 20 are available here.

ACME recently premiered a collaborative commission from Five Boroughs Music Festival titled 5x5, in which five ACME members – Timo Andres, Caleb Burhans, Clarice Jensen, Ben Russell, and Caroline Shaw – each wrote a movement. Listen to "Hello" by Caroline and "Snowflake Lake" by Clarice from the suite.

"Hello" by Caroline Shaw from ACME's 5x5

"Snowflake Lake" by Clarice Jensen from ACME's 5x5


Recent Posts
bottom of page