top of page

Stenberg|Cahill Duo Gives Virtual Premieres by Mary Watkins and Ronald Bruce Smith

“Contemporary music fans are fortunate to have this simultaneously authoritative and approachable pair…” – San Francisco Classical Voice

On Sunday, October 11, 2020 at 4pm PT, the Stenberg|Cahill Duo is presented by Old First Concerts in a livestream concert. The duo will perform live on stage at Old First Church (San Francisco, CA) and the stream will be available to watch for free via YouTube Live, with donations suggested here:

Composed of pianist Sarah Cahill and violinist Kate Stenberg, the Stenberg|Cahill Duo is dedicated to promoting the American experimental tradition and expanding it through the commissioning of new work. On this program, the duo will give world premieres by two composers: Summer Days by Mary Watkins (commissioned by Cahill) and Ascent and Horizon – two movements from a work-in-progress – by Ronald Bruce Smith (commissioned by Stenberg).

Summer Days is a reflection of a summer day when kids are being kids out of school safely playing together without a care in the world – the way it was when I was a kid!! The music makes me think of children between the ages of 6 and 9 on a hot summer day freely playing in the water of a sprinkler, bouncing, running, wrestling, yelling, laughing, and screaming with delight.” - Mary Watkins

“Ascent and Horizon (2020) are from a set of pieces in progress for solo violin. Similar to a set of guitar pieces that I began in 2018, there is not a predetermined number of pieces in the collection. The idea is to add pieces as they are composed while ultimately leaving it to the performer to decide which ones to program and the order. Ascent was the first piece I completed following the COVID-19 lockdown in Toronto where I live part of the year. It seemed that the complicated and anxious situation asked for a searching yet uncomplicated contemplative response. Horizon is seeing things in perspective relative to a focal point. These two pieces were written for and are dedicated to Kate Stenberg.” - Ronald Bruce Smith

The duo’s program also includes:

Somei Satoh: Birds in Warped Time II

Lili Boulanger: Nocturne 

Ruth Crawford: Buoyant from Violin Sonata 

Germaine Tailleferre: Adagietto from Sonata No. 2 

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Deep River (arr. Maud Powell)

Brahms: Sonata in A Major, Op. 100

Recent Stenberg|Cahill Duo appearances include performances at San Francisco Performances PIVOT Series with percussionist William Winant, Berkeley Chamber Performances, Cal State Fullerton New Music Festival, Berkeley Museum of Art and Pacific Film Archive, Other Minds New Music Séance and Garden of Memory at the Julia Morgan Chapel of the Chimes. 

Sarah Cahill:

Kate Stenberg:

Old First Concerts:

Recent Posts
bottom of page