Sarah Cahill

The Future is Female

The Future is Female is a ritual installation and communal feminist immersive listening experience featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe, ranging from the 18th century to the present day, including new commissioned works. This flexible program is available as an evening-length recital performance or as a marathon performance and is ideal for concert halls, museums, and gallery spaces. The marathon performance duration is between four to seven hours, allowing audience members to sit and listen for any length of time, with the ability to come and go, as well as the ability to walk around the space. Featured composers include Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre, Maria de Alvear, Galina Ustvolskaya, Franghiz Ali-Zadeh, Florence Price, Hannah Kendall, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Kui Dong, Meredith Monk, Vítězslava Kaprálová, Deirdre Gribbin, Fannie Charles Dillon, and many others.

The Future is Female - full repertoire list >

Compositions written for Sarah by living composers >



For booking inquiries:

Management & PR:

Christina Jensen,

Gina Meola,


“A sterling pianist and an intrepid illuminator of the classical avant-garde”

– The New York Times

“Through her inspired interpretation of works across the 20th and 21st centuries, Cahill has been instrumental in bringing to life the music of many of our greatest living composers.”

– Keyboard Magazine

“As tenacious and committed an advocate as any composer could dream of” 

– San Francisco Chronicle

The Future is Female was truly a treat: a trip through time and place through a wonderful variety of classical styles.”

 – Chatham Lifestyle


“There's something invitingly contemporary about it, a vital complement to preservation for the vitality of classical piano music”

– Indy Week

© 2020 Jensen Artists